Colchester Methodist Circuit
Superintendent Minister: Reverend Alan Jenkins.

Circuit Ministers
Circuit preaching Plans, Sundays and Thursdays
Local Preachers and Worship Leaders
Circuit vision
History of the circuit
Circuit Diary
Links to other sites


Bringing the good news of Jesus Christ to the people of Colchester and the surrounding area, in the style adopted by the Methodist Church

Colchester Methodist Circuit is contiguous with, the Colchester Borough Council area, with the exception that Dedham and various villages on the Dedham side of Colchester which are part of Tendring Circuit.

Ministers are allocated to the circuit which has ten churches that meet regularly as shown on the preaching plans page. Our ministers team consists of Alan Jenkins and Ken Chalmers, Alan is the Superintendent. Ken has joined us from Castle Carey, where he served his first seven years in ministry.

Rev'd. Alan Jenkins Rev'd. Ken Chalmers

In addition there are a number of retired ministers both of the Methodist Church and other denominations who make themselves available to preach and lead worship in churches of the circuit.

Several Local Preachers and Worship Leaders appointed to the circuit also lead worship when an ordained minister is not available.
In order to provide a worship opportunity for people working in or visiting the town centre. Ministers, Local Preachers and Worship Leaders from around the circuit will be leading a short service at Castle Methodist Church each Thursday starting at 1.00 pm. On the first Thursday of each month this service will be led by an ordained Minister who will celebrate the Sacrament of Holy Communion with those present.

For details of who the preachers are, the Circuit Plan should be visited, this can be found at Circuit Plan. Details of who is leading the Thursday worship can also be found on that page.

The circuit is part of the Bedfordshire, Essex and Hertfordshire District of the Methodist Church under the leadership of the Chair of the District, Rev'd. Anne E Brown BSc.

Rev'd. Anne Brown

All the Churches in Colchester Methodist circuit are licensed to carry out weddings. Baptisms and Funerals can also be carried out. Please contact the one of the ministers for further information.